top of page

Our Structure

Local Church

A local church is a community of true believers under the Lordship of Christ. It is the redemptive fellowship in which the Word of God is preached by persons divinely called and the sacraments are duly administered according to Christ’s own appointment. Under the discipline of the Holy Spirit, the church exists for the maintenance of worship, the edification of believers, and the redemption of the world.



Districts are definite geographical and administrative subdivisions of an Annual Conference. The number of districts is determined by the Annual Conference. The boundaries of the districts is determined by the bishop after consultation with the district superintendents. A district consists of all the pastoral charges within its boundaries and is under the supervision of a district superintendent.


Annual Conference

The Annual Conference is the basic organizational body in The United Methodist Church. An Annual Conference includes all United Methodist churches in a geographically defined area. Lay and clergy members of the Annual Conference have the right to vote on all constitutional amendments and delegates to General and Jurisdictional Conferences. Members establish the budget for the Annual Conference and vote on all mater related to the organizational life of its agencies and institutions. The Annual Conference members are responsible for the program and administration of the work of the Annual Conference and its local churches. Only clergy members vote on all matters relating to clergy membership and ordination. The membership of the Annual Conference consists of an equal number of lay and clergy members, and at least one lay person from each pastoral charge is to be a member.

Delegates from the Rio Texas Conference are...

    Clergy: General Conference: Laura Merrill,  James Amerson, Raquel Feagins & Taylor Fuerst

 Jurisdictional Conference: Paul Escamilla, Abigail Herrera, Wilson Pruitt,  Amelia Beasley

Alternate: Russell Miller,  Liliana Padilla,  Michael Mumme,  Thomas Deviney

Laity: General Conference: Jay Brim, Rachel Wright, Charles McGarity, Ralph Thompson

Jurisdictional Conference: Carol Loeb, Cynthia Johnson, Kercida McClain, Iris Chavez

Alternate Delegates: Priscilla Patterson, Aislinn Deviney, Patricia Stewart. Abby Gutierrez


First United Methodist Church of San Benito

bottom of page